Maggie Björklund CD Coming Home

Write a Review
2.8 Ounces
Calculated at Checkout


"The Danish singer/pedal steel guitarist's debut solo album is drawn very much from a familiar source, culling Maggie's warm folksy style together with the contributions of musicians like Calexico, Mark Lanegan, and Jon Auer (Posies). Coming Home straddles delirium and ecstacy, when the vultures circling overhead look like doves. Psychedelic desert pop music. It's the sound of a bead of condensation rolling down a beer glass at a grimy cantina. It's the sound of the glare off the windshield when you turn the '67 Caddy west. It's the sound after the gunfight."

Well, that's what the ads say, but they aren't geared for steel guitarists.  Here's my take on it:

At first it seemed strange to me that a steel guitarist's CD would only have 5 instrumentals out of 11 tracks.  But reading the liner notes, I discovered that Maggie Björklund is more than a steel player - she composed the music to all of these tunes!  The mood is melancholy and downbeat, typical of "alternative" folk music, and at some points the tones are a bit unusual.  The entire album is exceptionally well produced though, and what Maggie lacks in hot licks she more than makes up for in taste and in her beautifully crafted Sho-Bud tone.

Someone on the Forum called Maggie the Enya of steel players, and in a way I agree.  If you like laid back new age music and wish you could hear it played on steel guitar, then this album will be right up your alley.

  1. Wasteland
  2. Intertwined (voc. Maggie, Mark Lanegan)
  3. Summer Romance (voc. Rachel Flotard)
  4. Vildspor (voc. Jon Auer)
  5. Falling
  6. The Anchor Song (voc. Rachel Flotard)
  7. Insekt
  8. Coming Home (voc. Maggie, Mark Lanegan)
  9. Frost
  10. Playground Stars (voc. Jon Auer)
  11. Finale

reviewed by Bobby Lee

View AllClose